Ratinaud Charcuterie – Halifax

7 Aug

Food from Ratinaud CharcuterieA few months back a good friend and fellow foodie brought over duck pate for my birthday.  I am not a fan of pate, but this was different.  It was savory, juicy, and full of flavour, the kind of food you find yourself thinking about weeks later.

The pate was purchased from Ratinaud (@Ratinaud_HFX), a charcuterie located on Gottigen Street in Halifax.  They use high quality Nova Scotian to craft traditional style French cuisine.  His products are hand made and cured on site.

In addition to a huge selection of pate’s, sausages, cured meats and rillettes, Ratinaud also serves up fine cheeses and a variety of chutneys.  Check out his full offerings (plus suggested wine pairings) on his drool worthy website. The shop is also gluten-free friendly, with no preservatives or gluten used except where noted.

On our first visit, we purchased duck prosciutto, cured chorizo, a baguette and a tasty Quebec cheese.  Since then, Ratinaud has quickly become a regular on our weekly shopping list.  We are especially excited to try the wild geese pate that will be available come fall.  We were told that is even more flavourful than the duck.  I’m not sure I believe that’s possible, but I am more than willing to find out.

@GillianWesleyNS

10 Responses to “Ratinaud Charcuterie – Halifax”

  1. the audacious amateur blogger August 7, 2012 at 1:37 am #

    I heart charcuterie with a passion. I’m salivating! Cured meats… I could live off of, never had cures duck! Truly jealous right now!

    • The Local Traveler August 7, 2012 at 9:30 am #

      I am also a fan but until this place there weren’t many options. A bit dangerous of a discovery because I want to go there all the time now.

  2. Ruth2Day August 7, 2012 at 5:12 am #

    Pate with crispy crackers or hot buttered toast is yummy, and a nice glass of wine too, divine! 🙂

  3. mouseinyourhouse August 7, 2012 at 2:36 pm #

    Your blog finally inspired me to look up Halifax on a map (being from Tennessee and all, I knew it was in Canada but that was about it!). So sad, I know, but thanks for sharing all the culture, foodie insights and beauty in the area. Really enjoing it.

    • The Local Traveler August 8, 2012 at 9:48 am #

      Thank you for stopping by, your comment made me so happy! Glad that you were inspired to look up Halifax!

  4. artzent August 7, 2012 at 4:23 pm #

    The food and photos look wonderful and I wish that I could go there, instead I have to depend on you to post these great images!

  5. Uma August 7, 2012 at 6:14 pm #

    that sounds delicious.. wish i had a chance to visit the place!

  6. Kim @ Wonderings August 7, 2012 at 8:51 pm #

    Looks so good. Thanks for stopping by my blog today!

  7. dearrosie August 8, 2012 at 2:57 pm #

    Thanks for popping over to my blog. I very much enjoyed this post. I’ve been to Nova Scotia once years ago and hope to come again. This little charcuterie sounds marvellous and as if it was somewhere in Europe. So nice to know there’s a European style tradition of curing meats even in a small town like yours.

Leave a Reply

